Just One More Please!!

We wait. We wait for months… years even for a new installment to a game. We wait so patiently. Some of us anyway.

You’ll get sequels to games that don’t really need another game like Unravel and Call Of Duty. Yeah, I said that! But there are games that truly deserve one more game, one more chance at delivering an incredible experience. So here are 8 games – in my personal opinion – that deserve that chance.

8. Medal Of Honor

To start this list off, we begin with a franchise that sadly died out. Perish is the right word, I think. Medal Of Honor was a perfect rival against Call Of Duty in its PS2 hayday. The action and enticing plot was something I enjoyed very much, Medal Of Honor: Frontline to be specific… I rented that game out for weeks on end. I loved it.

Coming towards the PS3/Xbox 360 era, Medal Of Honor decided to have a gritty reboot. I guess since remasters and reboots were becoming a bit of a trend, it was only right for them to jump on that bandwagon. Except, the reboot of the game didn’t have that fine MoH finish that the previous installments had. It just felt like it was a simple war shooter. The studio must have suspected this as it only had a sequel and shortly after, the series vanished from sight. Quite sad really.

Nevertheless, I do feel that Medal Of Honor shouldn’t have been scrapped so quickly, not without some thorough re-examination and a last attempt. It needs to prove itself once again, as the Battlefield series has taken its place in their spot. Get it back into the competition!

7. BioShock

Many games have endless installments to their series, like Final Fantasy and Call Of Duty, while many have a mere handful. One of these franchises is BioShock. Dark, gritty, full of ambience and storyline with such a surprising twist, it will mess with your mind. It made me think TOO much.

I have to say that BioShock: Infinite is the best entry by far. It was different from the BioShock we are normally used to, but it kept key elements that made the series what its recognisable for. However, that entry was back on the PS3/Xbox (exclude the remastered trilogy for the current console generation), and it hasn’t been looked into since.

I miss the creepiness of its world and the tense atmosphere it so rightfully has. Quite a waste to just leave it there… so it MUST have another addition. The fans deserve that, at least.

6. Timesplitters

This is more of an ‘honourable mention’, as I’ve actually never played this game. I’ve watched it, and found it rather enjoyable, but I’ve never experienced the game for myself. But it was a quite a common response from most individuals I’ve asked, included one of my good mates from school, that I couldn’t just ignore it.

A rather addictive FPS, with a good plot, it was back in 2005 that the last Timesplitters game was released. As a classic and fond favourite to many gamers, it’s only right that there should be a trilogy.

5. Silent Hill

The rival to Resident Evil, this franchise is in a league of its own. No one can deny the effect that this series has on its players. And here’s why…

Silent Hill doesn’t just scare you in the traditional sense, it manages to get under your skin and remain there for a very VERY long time. Silent Hill 2 is the best example, you just know something is wrong… something doesn’t feel right or the fact that something doesn’t belong. This series psychologically breaks you as well as the character you’re controlling. It feels weird, yet thrilling.

With many titles under its belt, the last proper installment – Silent Hill: Downpour – was a bit of a let down. It was atmospheric at some parts, but it lacked that Silent Hill vigor it had with the first and second installments. But the feeling that the series has gone from sight does make me feel uneasy, as it wouldn’t be right to end this fantastic horror series. Therefore, Silent Hill needs one more game to light that horror flame again.

4. The Simpsons

For those too young to remember, The Simpsons had a handful of games to their name. One of which was The Simpsons: Hit And Run. Now, I can guarantee that the majority of ALL gamers will say that this is the best Simpsons game; an absolute classic.

It seems unusual to know that The Simpsons haven’t released a game since the PS3/Xbox 360 generation. Especially with its popularity. I’ve wished for years on end that there would be a Simpsons game that would be on par with Hit And Run. But that wish hasn’t been granted… although EA should take advantage, as they would be ideal to create a new game for the popular animated series. It needs another game… imagine a Simpsons game in the style of Grand Theft Auto; an open world Simpsons game. You can’t deny how cool that would be.

3. Skate

I never thought I’d be into this sort of game, but when I tried the first game… I don’t think I played anything else for a while. I loved Skate, all three of them.

The premise of the game was enjoyable, highly addictive to say the least and having the mechanic of customisation was always a joy to have. In any game, a character you can customise is the right choice to have. Skate revived that Tony Hawk; Pro-Skater sized hole we all suffered from a few years previous to Skate being released. It was fun, great fun to just skate around all the time, do tricks and get that attention we needed to gain.

Many speculated that Skate was getting its fourth addition, but nothing has emerged… just rumours. If we’re getting it for the upcoming PS5 and the next Xbox, no one can be sure. All we know is that it does need another game. Plus, it’ll shut everyone up… including me.

2. Resistance

This franchise took me by surprise, as it’s not a mixture you normally see. Set during World War Two, a sudden invasion of the Chimera bathe the world with destruction. I loved it from start to finish, and I’m still a fan to this day.

What appealed to me was not just the science fiction and the horror, but the idea of changing history as we know it. What if neither side won the war, and the Chimera enslaved the Human Race? That whole possibility just intrigues me, anything to do with changing timelines does. Probably why I loved BioShock: Infinite so much.

I feel that Resistance didn’t end the way it should have done, not enough closure with its plot… to me anyway. So it needs one more game to justify a good ending to everything Chimera.

1. Dead Space

A true masterpiece of horror. Dead Space was a blessing to the horror genre of games, entwined with the Sci-Fi elements. I like to compare Dead Space with the Alien trilogy (yeah, let’s forget Alien: Resurrection) and here’s how:

• Dead Space: a member of the maintenance crew gets mixed up in an unearthly horror. You were new to whole experience, and it was a thorough horror experience.

• Dead Space 2: protagonist returns to kill the source of this unearthly horror. Pretty experienced, and this time around its more of an action experience than horror. Considered the best of the three.

• Dead Space 3: over experienced where the protagonist knows what to expect. Not as memorable as its predecessors.

However, despite the popularity of the third installment, this series needs to make a comeback to fully conclude Isaac’s journey, due to the cliffhanger in Dead Space 3. It may have its flaws, and the original studio may be no more, but this series needs to be picked up. Even if it’s just for one more game. It deserve that.

Thank you very much for reading. Like always, feel free to comment as I do appreciate the feedback.

Please note; the images used in this blog are not mine. All copyright goes to the original owner(s).

Published by nimrod95

Metalhead gamer, trophy whore and regular series binger.

2 thoughts on “Just One More Please!!

  1. I definitely would love to see a Bioshock, Simpson’s and deadspace remake, the others in the list I can’t speak for as I’ve not played sadly. Didn’t own many games growing up (sadface) well written and a thorough explanation given! 😀 keep up the good writing, a game I’d love to see a remake of is (actually I think I’ll keep that for a blog post I’ll be writing :P) xxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started